Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Archbishop awards Cross of St Augustine to Anglican Communion Office staff

Tuesday 27th January 2009

The Archbishop of Canterbury yesterday awarded Deirdre Martin and Canon James Rosenthal the Cross of St Augustine at a reception at Lambeth Palace.

Deirdre Martin has been Executive Assistant to the Secretary General of the Anglican Communion for 32 years, during which time she attended four Lambeth Conferences, all Primates meetings, as well as almost all ACC and JSC meetings.

Dr Williams paid tribute to Deirdre Martin:

"Deirdre has served the Communion for over 30 years with unobtrusive skill and commitment, as well as real theological intelligence. She has been an anchor of stability for us all, and a generous friend to countless individuals

Canon James Rosenthal began work with the Anglican Communion as a volunteer at the 1988 Lambeth Conference, and then went on to become Director of Communications for the Anglican Communion Office, editing the Anglican World journal for 15 years.

The Archbishop also paid tribute to Canon James Rosenthal's work:

"Jim has been an outstanding ambassador for the Communion and has had a unique role in making and keeping friendships among us. I am very glad to recognize in this award the warmth and passionate dedication he has brought to his role."

The Cross of St Augustine was founded by Archbishop Michael Ramsey. It was first awarded by him on 19 February 1965. It is a circular medallion bearing a replica of the 8th Century Cross of Canterbury and on the reverse side is an engraving of the chair of St Augustine at Canterbury. The ribbon is of "Canterbury Blue" and it is worn around the neck by clergy and on the left breast by lay people.

This award has historically been awarded to clergy and lay people of foreign churches who have contributed conspicuously to advancing friendly relations with the churches of the Anglican Communion. More recently it has also been given for outstanding service within the Church of England whether centrally or in the dioceses, or the Anglican Communion as a whole, and to those who have contributed to advancing relations between the various Christian communions and churches.

Back · Back to top