Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Archbishop to award Cross of St Augustine

Wednesday 30th July 2008

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams has announced the award of the Cross of St Augustine to thirteen recipients.

The award, which is in the gift of the Archbishop, marks conspicuous service to the Church and the wider community.  The thirteen listed below will receive the award at a ceremony in the Chapel at Lambeth Palace on Friday 17th October 2008.

The Cross of St Augustine was founded by Archbishop Michael Ramsey. It was first awarded by him on 19 February 1965 and takes the form of a circular medallion bearing a replica of the 8th Century Cross of Canterbury; on the reverse is an engraving of the chair of St Augustine at Canterbury. The ribbon is of "Canterbury Blue" and it is worn around the neck by clergy and on the left breast by lay people.

The Cross of St Augustine has historically been awarded to clergy and lay people of foreign churches who have contributed conspicuously to advancing friendly relations with the churches of the Anglican Communion. More recently it has been given for outstanding service within the Church of England whether centrally or in the dioceses, or the Anglican Communion as a whole, and also to those who have contributed to advancing relations between the various Christian communions and churches.

Those receiving the award:

  • Mr Kenneth Beard
  • The Rt Revd Michael Bourke
  • The Revd Canon Dr William Broughton
  • The Revd Canon Wilfrid Browning
  • Miss Gillian Dare
  • The Hon Jill Ganzoni
  • The Revd Andrew Henderson
  • Mr Vijay Menon
  • The Most Revd Ellison Pogo KBE
  • Mrs Judith Scott
  • Mrs Sheila Tolson
  • The Revd Canon Robert Whyte
  • Mrs Maggi Whyte

Back · Back to top