Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Archbishop of Canterbury awards Lambeth Degrees

Tuesday 16th October 2012

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, has presided over the 2012 Lambeth Degree award ceremony today at Lambeth Palace.

The Archbishop with the recipients of the 2012 Lambeth Degrees

He awarded degrees to the following recipients (L-R): Dr Francis Jackson, Mrs Clare Amos, Dr Martin Neary, The Reverend Beatrice Brandon, The Reverend Prebendary Peter Speck, The Rt Reverend Dr Peter Carnley, Mr Clifford Longley and The Reverend Dr Anthony Swindell. 

In his welcome address, the Archbishop described the degree ceremony as an ‘important occasion in my year, when I recognise and honour those who have made significant contributions to the life of the Church and also, in some cases, to the wider community over many years.’

The Lambeth Degree is a real academic award.  The candidates are exempt from both residential and examination requirements and the awards are made, on merit, in recognition of their particular contributions to religious, academic and public life.

The Archbishop of Canterbury’s right to grant degrees of the realm is derived from the Peter’s Pence Act of 1533 which empowered the Archbishop to grant dispensations previously granted by the Pope.  The practice began when attendance atOxfordandCambridge, the only universities at that time inEngland, was frequently disrupted by the difficulty of travel or outbreaks of the plague.  The Archbishop was empowered to grant exemption from the residential requirements necessary for a degree.

Lambeth degrees can be awarded in Divinity, Law, Arts, Literature, Medicine and Music.

Brief biographies and citations for those being awarded Lambeth Degrees in 2012 follows below:

Mrs Clare Amos

DD:       In recognition of her significant contribution on behalf of the Church of England and the Anglican Communion to interfaith and ecumenical engagement, to theological education and learning and to the dissemination of biblical studies.

The Revd Beatrice Brandon

DD:       In recognition of her services to the Church of England at diocesan and national level, and for her important contribution to a better understanding and appreciation of the significance of the healing ministry.

The Most Revd Dr Peter Carnley

DD:       In recognition of his long and distinguished service to the Anglican Communion, his archiepiscopal leadership of the church in Australia and his wholehearted commitment and significant contribution to ecumenical engagement and dialogue.

Dr Francis Jackson

DMus:   In recognition at national and international level of his work as an organist and composer and his contribution to the development and appreciation of sacred and secular music.

Mr Clifford Longley

MLitt:   In recognition of his commitment and achievements as an author, broadcaster and journalist and his significant contribution to a broader understanding of religious affairs within the public domain.

Dr Martin Neary

DMus:   In recognition of his outstanding contribution at national and international level as an organist and conductor and of his sensitive and dynamic interpretation of sacred and secular music in the choral tradition.

The Revd Prebendary Peter Speck

DM:      In recognition of his distinguished vocation as a hospital chaplain and a university teacher and his significant contribution within the field of hospice and palliative care.

The Revd Dr Anthony Swindell     

DD:       In recognition of his scholarship and research in the field of Biblical Reception Studies and his particular contribution to theological reflection and debate.

Read more about the Archbishop's Awards and Examinations.

Back · Back to top