Advanced search Click here for the website of the current Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby

This is an archived website containing material relating to Dr Rowan Williams’ time as Archbishop of Canterbury, which ended on 31st December 2012

Skip Content

Archbishop to award Cross of St Augustine

Monday 6th September 2004

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, has announced the award of the Cross of St Augustine to twelve recipients. The award, which is in the gift of the Archbishop, marks conspicuous service to the Church and the wider community.

The twelve listed below will receive the award at a ceremony in the Chapel at Lambeth Palace on Monday 8th November 2004.

The Cross of St Augustine was founded by Archbishop Michael Ramsey. It was first awarded by him on 19 February 1965 and takes the form of a circular medallion bearing a replica of the 8th Century Cross of Canterbury; on the reverse is an engraving of the chair of St Augustine at Canterbury. The ribbon is of "Canterbury Blue" and it is worn around the neck by clergy and on the left breast by lay people.

The Cross of St Augustine has historically been awarded to clergy and lay people of foreign churches who have contributed conspicuously to advancing friendly relations with the churches of the Anglican Communion. More recently it has been given for outstanding service within the Church of England whether centrally or in the dioceses, or the Anglican Communion as a whole, and also to those who have contributed to advancing relations between the various Christian communions and churches.

Those receiving the award:

  • The Rt. Revd Kenneth Barham
  • Mrs Linda Borthwick
  • Brother Roger of Taize
  • The Revd Canon Bruce Duncan
  • Dr. Gerre Hancock
  • Miss Virginia Johnstone
  • Mr. Robert Kidd
  • Professor Ann Lambton
  • The Rt Revd Alan Morgan
  • Ms Jenny Ottewell
  • Captain Philip Slater
  • The Revd Canon Robert Warren

Back · Back to top